Home Channels Switch Owners Can Preview Splatoon 2 For Free This Weekend

Switch Owners Can Preview Splatoon 2 For Free This Weekend

438
0
splatoon 2

If you’re one of the 2 million people who were lucky enough to find a Nintendo Switch at launch, you’ll soon have more to do than just explore Hyrule. A free demo version of Splatoon 2 will go live this weekend only, filling screens across the globe with Inkling ink.

The original Splatoon was offered as a preview before it officially went online, in the form of a “Global Testfire” that lasted one weekend. The intent was to stress-test the servers, but it worked pretty well for selling Nintendo fans on a new concept, and so the strategy will be repeated with Splatoon 2.

All you need (besides a Switch) is the Global Testfire app, which can now be downloaded for free from the Nintendo eShop. The servers will go live for approximately one hour at designated times throughout this coming weekend:

  • March 24: 12-12:59 p.m. Pacific, 3-3:59 p.m. Eastern
  • March 24: 8-8:59 p.m. Pacific, 11-11:59 p.m. Eastern
  • March 25: 4-4:59 a.m. Pacific, 7-7:59 a.m. Eastern
  • March 25: 12-12:59 p.m. Pacific, 3-3:59 p.m. Eastern
  • March 25: 8-8:59 p.m. Pacific, March 25: 11-11:59 p.m. Eastern
  • March 26: 4-4:59 a.m. Pacific, 7-7:59 a.m. Eastern

Splatoon 2 is scheduled to come out this summer. Players will have a few months of free online gameplay to enjoy before Nintendo starts charging a yearly fee in the fall.