Leaving cable TV behind (discussion for Sling TV, Playstation Vue, HBO Go, etc)

wonderfly

Brand New Day on Toonzone
Staff member
Administrator
Reporter
I'm still new to all this: Where exactly is this "On Demand" content at on Sling TV?

I found a link that explains it.

Good; that was the missing piece. The cloud DVR is the best thing about Vue though; Sling still needs something similar.

Is "on demand" features close enough though? Looking at that link I just posted, it sound pretty similar to Hulu - you get the latest 4 or 5 episodes for a few days/weeks. So unless you're just wanting to hang on to a show for 6 months, or for a year or two, then "on demand" may be sufficient.

For me: I just don't want to stay up till past-midnight to watch Toonami. If those shows are available "on demand", for $20 a month, in a format similar to Hulu, I may be content now with this service.

Peter Paltridge

RUN!
Staff member
I found a link that explains it.

Is "on demand" features close enough though? Looking at that link I just posted, it sound pretty similar to Hulu - you get the latest 4 or 5 episodes for a few days/weeks. So unless you're just wanting to hang on to a show for 6 months, or for a year or two, then "on demand" may be sufficient.
No it's not. They only hold the most popular programs. And CN has no on-demand on Sling.

jaylop97

Staff member
Hulu is really starting to pick up its game given now they want to live stream tv shows later this year, as a person with a Hulu account I do see how good they are trying to step their game.

wonderfly

Staff member
Administrator
Reporter
Posting an article from our own Peter Paltridge here.

Been a while since anyone posted here, but as explained in that link, there's some changes on the horizon: